The Crayola Experience: Sorority Edition

Each year, the sisters of my sorority, Kappa Alpha Theta, take time away from our busy lives to take part in a sisterhood retreat. One Saturday morning this September, our Human Resources Director planned for us to go to the Crayola Experience in Easton, PA. As someone who has been there multiple times during my childhood, I looked forward to having fun with my sorority sisters.

The Crayola Experience is intended for families. Children can learn more about the crayon manufacturing process, make some crayon-related crafts to take home, and have fun exploring the various floors of Model Magic, painting, and puzzles. As college students, you would expect the day to go a little differently, but we did exactly what we would’ve done if we were still 8 years old (except we didn’t need anyone to read the instructions on the machines to us).

img_4021

Entrance to the Crayola Experience

Our Human Resources Director believed it would be most cost-effective for everyone to carpool and figure out rides. It wasn’t the easiest way to do it and we were still making sure everyone had transportation the morning of the event. However, it worked out in the end. I volunteered to drive three of my sisters who live in the Kappa Alpha Theta house with me since I have my car at Lehigh. It was a 30-minute drive; my friend directed me using my phone’s GPS and we found a parking garage across the street from the Crayola Experience with ease. Parking cost 9 dollars for the 3 hours we were there and we split it between the four of us. We learned a few days later that we could be reimbursed by Theta for the cost of parking, which was a nice surprise.

Since there was no dress code, a few sisters chose to wear our sorority letters and Lehigh t-shirts. Although we always hope that our sisters are behaving appropriately, it is especially important to do so when wearing apparel that clearly identifies us. We strive to represent Theta and Lehigh in the best way possible. Since we were around a lot of children, we had to be conscious of what we said and how we acted, which I think everyone did well. Not only did we behave appropriately for the setting, but I know that I interacted with a few of the kids and I hope that I made their experience an even better one.

The Crayola Experience has a plethora of options for fun crafts, activities, and shows. One of the first activities that I did was customize a crayon label and use a machine to wrap it around a crayon. This created a fun keepsake that I was able to bring home. There was also a room with an 85-foot long “river” in which you maneuvered your boat through different obstacles. Although it was educational, it was also time-consuming, somewhat complicated for kids, and hardly related to crayons. If you have small children or are running on limited time, I would recommend skipping this one. On the top floor there were a variety of crafts using crayon wax, including drip art, drawing with hot wax, and molding a crayon into a variety of shapes that were all exciting and fun.

img_3999

Personalized crayon

            One of my sisters mentioned to me that she was hungry (it was still a few hours until we’d be back at Theta for lunch) so we evaluated our food options. There was a small counter selling soft pretzels, popcorn, and drinks, however they were very overpriced. I remembered that there used to be a McDonald’s on the bottom floor, but it has since been replaced (I haven’t been there in 6 years) with a Crayola Café and was probably also overpriced. Earlier we saw that the Easton Farmer’s Market was happening outside and knew that would be our best option. We got stamped so we could come back in and walked around the farmer’s market. My friend and I got hot dogs and sat by the fountain. We then walked down a beautiful side street called Bank Street that my sister had seen from one of the windows in the Crayola Experience and then went back inside to continue our day.

img_4016

Bank Street Creamery

            I would highly recommend the Crayola Experience to another sorority as a sisterhood event. The ability to bond with sisters over activities intended for kids (but fun for adults) was something that we don’t get to do at school and it was reasonably priced. Since I had good memories of being at the Crayola Experience in the past I wasn’t sure how it would compare being with friends instead of family and it exceeded my expectations. I think that our behavior and positive attitude were crucial in keeping the employees positive and eager to let us play. I never felt out-of-place or as if they wished we weren’t there because we were too old. I would certainly also recommend it to families with children because it joined fun with education and Crayola is a brand that kids are familiar with. I don’t know how our future sisterhood events will compare to this one; I think we all really loved it. Our Human Resources Director did a great job planning, which was important as well. I hope to go back to the Crayola Experience in another few years, and hopefully back to Easton much sooner. Feel free to comment with any comments or questions about my experience or the venue, I would love to talk more about it.

One comment


Comments are closed.