DanceFest @ Zoellner Arts Center

On Friday March 25th I attended my first DanceFest in Zoellner Arts Center. Having a close friend on the Lehigh Dance Team, I have had the opportunity to attend other dance performances around campus, however Dance Fest provided a completely different experience. I had made an effort to attend this event in years past and am truly glad that I was able to make it before I graduate this May. Luckily finding a group of friends to attend wasn’t difficult, as everyone wanted to go cheer on (and maybe slightly embarrass with large personalized posters) our sorority sister.

As a senior I am truly grateful that I was able to attend such a wonderful event full of immense talent and an indescribable energy; however I wish these types of events were better marketed to the Lehigh community. Before the event I had no idea that there were so many creative and remarkably talented dance groups on campus. It was inspiring to see so many people that I knew and recognized from classes and around campus showcasing their months of extreme hard work and clear devotion to their respective art form. Unfortunately for me, watching all these groups perform reminded me of how painfully sub par my dancing skills are…

I was also shocked that the headlining dance group, the Desi Hoppers (reigning World of Dance winners) came all the way from India to perform! Their performance was my favorite by far, their routine was like something I’d never seen or even heard of before. Their music mix was a perfect blend of traditional Indian and modern hip-hop (the Indian beats I learned were called “bhangra”) and their dance moves, while more hip-hop intensive, definitely had major hints of common Indian dance moves as well. All in all, their ability to seamlessly connect the two was extremely impressive and a treat to watch. If you’re one of those who wasn’t lucky enough to see this special performance, click here to see their insane World of Dance winning performance->Desi Hoppers World of Dance

Overall, I couldn’t have had a better Dance Fest experience. The timing was perfect for a Friday night (7-10pm) and the Zoellner Arts Venue made it all the more personal. I am so thankful I was able to attend an event as special as this and was able to be immersed in the passionate dance community  I never knew Lehigh had.

-Cady Zawatson, Lehigh University Class of 2016

