Hannah Han ~ Honor Thesis Show: “Atmosphere & Light”

Saturday, April 25, 2015
5:00
7:30 PM

Hannah Han, Arch ’15, Art ’15
Presents: Honor Thesis Show “Atmosphere & Light”
RE:find gallery
437 Northampton Street, Easton, PA 18042

Artist’s Statement: Early 2014, I was introduced to the works of J. M. W. Turner (1775-1851)and was moved by his ability to capture the mood of nature in his later atmospheric paintings. Painting in his style, I was able to focus on the dynamic qualities of light; how it bounced, spread, and seeped according to its surroundings – these characteristics changed the way I handled paint. The paint became light, the process became my art. I wanted my paintings to evoke the emotions people feel when confronting nature—without painting nature itself. Later, I found myself moving away from Turner’s style to my own. Reflexively, my previous studies in expressive/gestural paintings and drawings gave this series of work an identity different from Turner’s.

Hannah Han is a senior at Lehigh University where she double majors in architecture and art. She has studied painting under Professor Berrisford Boothe for three consecutive years.

Hannah Han_0425

