Zoellner Press Release – The Buddy Holly Musical

Buddy Coming to Zoellner Arts Center’s Baker Hall stage on January 17, 2015

(Lehigh Valley, PA)  Zoellner Arts Center at Lehigh University in partnership with WDIY present the U.S. launch of the Broadway musical Buddy on January 17, 2015 at 8 pm. Based on the story of Buddy Holly through his short yet spectacular career, and features the classic songs, “Peggy Sue”, “That’ll Be The Day”, “Not Fade Away”, “Oh Boy”, Ritchie Valens’ “La Bamba”, The Big Bopper’s “Chantilly Lace” and more. Tickets are $55-35: call 610-758-2787 (7LU-ARTS), go to www.zoellnerartscenter.org or visit Zoellner Ticket Services.  Student, senior, group, and LVAIC discounts are available.

Zoellner Arts Center will partner with WDIY to benefit both the center and the local NPR station. “We have worked together for many years promoting all events at Zoellner in addition to being a season sponsor of the Lehigh University Music Department, so this was an obvious next step to increase opportunities exclusive to our listeners and supporters.  Buddy will be a major part of our upcoming pledge drive and we are thrilled that Zoellner was able to bring the musical to Lehigh Valley audiences,” said Wagner Previato, WDIY Executive Director.

The Broadway production company approached Zoellner management about using Baker and related facilities for an extended period of time to prepare for a US tour after an extended European run. “This is an opportunity to highlight Zoellner Arts Center as a premier performance facility, with a production and professional staff, we are also able to offer our services to prepare national tours,” said J. Andrew Cassano, Zoellner’s Administrative Director.

Now in its 25th amazing year, the “World’s Most Successful Rock ‘n’ Roll Musical” continues to thrill audiences on tour in the U.K. and around the world. Viewed by more than 20 million people in over 20,000 performances worldwide, Buddy opened in London’s West End in 1989, and has been seen on Broadway, throughout Canada, the U.S., Australia, New Zealand, Japan, Germany, Scandinavia, South Africa, the Netherlands and Singapore; winning numerous awards along the way.


One comment

Comments are closed.