Mastering the Snow Day

by Carly Novek

Snow days. I never considered having them in college. They were like a forgotten thing of the past. I remember praying to my window for school to be canceled, or to have the school district call my house the night before so I knew i could run over to my friends house and prepare to be stuck inside. I remember everyone saying to wear there pjs on backwards and spread chain AIM messages in the hopes that mother nature will help our cause and cancel school.

In Wisconsin, we never had a snow day. Honestly, the year I was there it didn’t snow too much. Then last year, I did not come until the Spring semester, where it never snowed enough to cancel school.

So now we are in the beginning of February, two snow days in one week under our belt, and a major blizzard on its way this weekend. What is a college girl to do? Do school work? Drink? Play in the snow? Watch Netflix all day?

I find myself wanting to relax all day, only to have my mind wired with what I should maybe be doing instead, or hating that I can’t then clear my mind by going for a run at the gym, and ultimately end up eating twice as much as I probably do on a normal day as well. The over hang of feeling obligated to be productive and do some marketing and history readings lingers..friends call on me to walk on the icey sidewalks to meet up with them..

So like I asked before, what is a girl to do.. I guess the answer is to try to do a bit of everything! We are Lehigh students after all, and are expected to be great multi takers..

and let’s face it, we may have more snow days to come.. More snowy pictures to be captured of Lehigh’s beautiful and historic buildings, more events to wonder whether or not they are still occurring..

Mother Nature is the ultimate artist, not only for the natural images she creates for artists to have captured throughout centuries, mediums, and movements, but ultimately in how her “tactics” affect us as human beings. 

So stay safe, don’t slip on the ice-like i have probably 3 times now, after thinking I have mastered how to avoid doing so- and curl up and do what you think is best with your time.

 

but in all honesty, i’m ready for the warm weather..

