I Wanna Rock (of Ages)

So yesterday I went to see Rock of Ages at Zoellner.  It was, like, totally tubular!

I felt just like I was transported back into the ’80s where all that existed was sex, drugs, and rock & roll.  It reminded me of seeing the musical Hair on Broadway.  You were immediately put into the mindset of the time period with the music, costumes, and characters.  Now, while I am a child of the ’90s, my parents (as my mom says) survived the ’80s.  Also, I have quite an eclectic taste in music thanks to my dad, so I had heard (and enjoyed) the majority of the songs in the show beforehand.  It was so much fun!

The music was well-integrated into the story, and they characters were relatable.  I especially enjoyed how the story line acknowledged the audience.  The characters weren’t in a bubble and oblivious to their viewers.  There was some interaction as well which helps engage the people in the seats and keep them interested.

Speaking of the audience, I’m not exactly sure what I expected (maybe some more eyeliner and black clothes like the crowd I encountered at Crüe Fest a few years ago in Scranton), but it definitely seemed to be an older, friendly crowd from where I was sitting that was reminiscing about a different time.  Not a bad thing, just a bit more tame than what I anticipated.  It probably just has to do with the venue and it being a musical which always tends to draws a certain type of crowd.

After the show, I also thought it was really cool (and fairly appropriate) to see there was a Facebook group dedicated to the groupies of the show.  From reading some of the posts, it seems that some go to as many shows as possible.  They even contact management when they find out there are shows not listed on the show website!  Dedication right there!

I’ve seen my fair share of shows on Broadway, off-Broadway, off-off-Broadway, etc. (the list goes on and on) and this show was Broadway quality.  The patrons got quite a deal on this show.  For about half the price of the Broadway ticket, they got to see a fantastic show that they also didn’t have to fight as hard for parking as they would in New York.  I really hope there are other tours and shows like this one that comes through Bethlehem.  I would definitely go see another performance here.

 

 

 

