Savoring Italy in S. Bethlehem

I totally fit the bill of your “average college student” in at least one regard- pizza has become its own food group in my diet!  Few things are easier, and more delicious, than a fresh baked pie made to your liking, but after ordering from Lehigh Pizza and Campus Pizza more times than I care to admit, I decided to break out of my comfort zone. 

Last week I made the leap over to Sal’s Brick Oven Pizza on New St.  From the outside, Sal’s appears to be a quaint and authentic slice of Italian delight- and its looks were not deceiving.  The décor is warm and welcoming and the smallness of the establishment actually works in its favor, making the restaurant experience as intimate as dining at a friend’s house. 

The pizza was truly delicious.  Aside from being cooked to perfection, the ingredients were extremely fresh and flavorful.  After taking down half of the “old-world” pie without any hesitation, I regrettably realized that my stomach would not be able to take on another dish… but my eyes and nose wanted otherwise.  Each time a waitress walked by, I was enticed by delectable dishes of lasagna and spaghetti Bolognese.  I’m a sucker for great Italian food- it’s safe to say I’ll be back to try something different in no time!

All in all, my only disappointment about Sal’s is that I didn’t go there sooner.  You should definitely eat-in rather than take-out because the complimentary garlic bread is out of this world, and the atmosphere truly complements the authentic cuisine.  For dessert you have to have one of their amazing sorbets; there are a variety of flavors, and they are all served in hollowed out pieces of fruit!  And if you want a glass of wine to go perfectly with your Italian delight, (which I whole-heartedly recommend), don’t forget to bring it yourself…Sal’s is strictly BYOB.

One comment

  1. Your article made sure that I visit Sal’s on my next trip. Wish I were there now.


Comments are closed.